A Sense of Personal Fulfillment

by ursavoice

Priscilla Gutierrez
Class of 2017

Personally, the last three years have been filled with so much growth and so many challenges. I came to law school excited for a fresh start and excited to pursue my dream of becoming an attorney. My first year of law school was especially arduous because of the newness of it all. Outlining, case briefs, oral arguments, and legal writing were all a part of the law school boot camp. Although life experiences had equipped me with a high tolerance for stress and uncertainty, I found it almost impossible to achieve a work-life balance.

Fast forward a few years, I am able to reflect on my law school career and feel a sense of accomplishment for surviving the most academically challenging experience of my life. Outside of the classroom, I have developed into a better version of myself and have a renewed sense of urgency to put my law degree to use. My sincere advice for every student is to pursue their passion and to welcome adversity in their pursuits. My journey and the journeys of many of our peers are full of hardships and difficult circumstances. As Malcolm X once said: “There is no better than adversity. Every defeat, every heartbreak, every loss, contains its own seed, its own lesson on how to improve your performance the next time.” My life and my legal education have prepared me for a future of “next times.”  I can only hope that each one of my peers leaves law school with a sense of achievement, pride, and enthusiasm for a future of great service and personal fulfillment.

