Why the Vagina Monologues?

by ursavoice

The Vagina Monologues is both hilarious and touching. It addresses important issues that must be discussed. Being a part of the Vagina Monologues last year was an inspirational, therapeutic, and overall exciting experience. I had the opportunity to form strong bonds with people who I otherwise may not have had the pleasure to interact with. The school’s support of the production was the reason why I fell in love with UCI Law. I hope that this wonderful tradition continues for many years to come! – Pegah Ghaneian, 2L

I saw the Vagina Monologues for the first time when I was in college. I was so excited to go, but I’ll admit, I was uncertain and a bit embarrassed that I had never seen the show before and did not really know what it was about. Before watching the play, I remember feeling envious of the women performing in the show. I wished I had the guts and self-awareness to go on stage and talk about sexuality in what I presumed was a brazen and shameless manner. I am not exactly sure how I formed these initial conclusions.  I had no idea what to expect because the show seemed to be addressing a topic that many people avoided, suppressed, or at least discussed in hushed tones: vaginas. A whole show, dedicated to vaginas? What did that even mean?
    For me, the Vagina Monologues mean many things. The show inspires me. Every time I read one of the monologues, hear someone talking about last year’s performance at the law school, or listen to someone share a story about someone they know affected by sexual violence, I appreciate the eternal power the Monologues exude. Everyone who experiences the show may take away something different. Having seen the show, I can confirm that some women who perform their monologues are confident and sassy, like I anticipated, and it is so fun to see such enthusiasm. Other women, however, are sometimes shy, nervous, and vulnerable when performing, and this provides a different, beautiful element to the show. The Monologues are a reflection of reality: daily struggles, internal conflicts, hilarious misunderstandings, and breathtaking realizations. Anyone and everyone can find meaning and value in this production. The stories are accessible because they are told by real people wanting is to share something special.
    As an honored and ecstatic member of this year’s cast, I hope you come to see the show. And I hope you bring a friend. Even if you feel awkward or confused or maybe apathetic about spending part of your evening outside your comfort zone, I really hope you consider attending, keeping in mind that you are not the only person who has ever felt that way when deciding to see a Vagina Monologues performance. For many people, last year’s show was their first Vagina Monologues experience, and they are so excited to see it again. I’m so grateful for the opportunity to bring our law school and the larger community together to celebrate and continue this wonderful tradition.  – Crystal Adams, 1L

I attended the VagMon performance last year, and it opened my eyes to the misconceptions and labels we attach—as well as the wonder and brilliance we should attribute—to what’s there when half the human population opens its legs.  The performance was humorous, well-rehearsed and entertaining, and I was only uncomfortable about 72% of the time. – Raj Shukla, 2L

 

Last year was actually the first time I have ever seen the Vagina Monologues.  The show was funny, gripping, heart-breaking, and sexy.  I have never been more proud of our school and our community than seeing my friends and classmates up on stage and behind the scenes to make it all happen.  I went to both shows and was even more in awe the second time!  There are few things more fitting than the Vagina Monologues (and our domestic violence clinic which it supports) to embody our responsibility as future lawyers: to speak for those who otherwise would not have a voice, to tell the stories that otherwise would not be heard. – Stef Wilson, 2L

  
 

