Reflections on the Vagina Monologues

by ursavoice

Professor Trilby Robinson-Dorn, UCI Law

I’d seen the Vagina Monologues performed before, but have to admit that I wasn’t quite sure what to expect when I learned that a group of UCI law students would be performing the show on campus last year. Regardless, I wanted to support our law women, so I bought a ticket and headed over to The Little Theater with several other faculty members one evening last February.

I was blown away by the show. Each student brought her monologue of female empowerment to life for our community – at times with humor, at other times with sadness, but always with passion. Our law women showed that they are a talented and dedicated group, one that no doubt put in many hours to make this show the success that it was. They also showed that they are courageous – I doubt many of us would have the moxie to talk about sex, love, and vaginas in front of an audience of our fellow students and law professors.

By putting on the Vagina Monologues, our students are taking to heart the law school’s mission of working to combat injustice in our communities. The production raises money for UCI Law’s Family Violence Clinic, and promotes awareness of the fight against gender-based violence in Orange County and beyond. It makes me proud to be part of a law school with such committed and effective women.

I strongly encourage you to attend this year’s production and support our students and community. I know that producer Lisa Petak and her cast are once again working hard to entertain and move us, and won’t disappoint.

